Discover Lafayette’s Past: SLI’s Department of Engineering

In 1901, Ashby Woodson was the first teacher of manual training at the newly opened Southwestern Louisiana Industrial Institute, now known as UL Lafayette. Manual training was to eventually become known as the College of Engineering. Under a 1920 legislative act, Dr. Edwin L. Stephens, president of the university, organized departments that would eventually develop […]

Continue Reading

Discover Lafayette’s Past: Jefferson Theater

The Jefferson Theater opened on January 15, 1905 as it showcased its first production, a burlesque comedy called ‘Hoity-Toity’. Originally established as a venue for live acts and motion pictures, a new Jefferson Theater would later be built next door and the original building would become the Azalea Theater. Downtown Lafayette was able to sustain […]

Continue Reading

Discover Lafayette’s Past – St. John’s Cathedral

St. John Cathedral circa 1870 photo by UL Lafayette Archives Collection St. John’s Cathedral located at 515 Cathedral Street in Downtown Lafayette, was originally called lEglise St. Jean du Vermilion or St. John of Vermilion. Situated on land donated by Jean Mouton, the donation provided that it be named St. John, and that it face […]

Continue Reading

Discover Lafayette’s Past – Lafayette Crime Stoppers

Lafayette Crime Stoppers began in 1983 with a mission to assist local law enforcement to fight crime by helping to overcome the two elements that inhibit public involvement: fear and apathy.  The program originated in Albuquerque, NM in 1972, and now Lafayette is one of over 1800 communities with an Active Crime Stoppers organization. Crime […]

Continue Reading